Me Oh My!

Standard

Sitting in the break room at work my 16 year old self was running her mouth, as usual. I was going to be a famous actress, Broadway mind you.  When from the table across from me the hot, older guy spoke, “Whoa, you’re talking about my hometown!”.  My dastardly plans had included returning to said town of my youth and “showing them” cause they had been “mean to my sister” and we moved because of that (not really what happened but it was all I knew back then).

That “whoa” was all I needed and I was gone.

I asked him out. Yep. For my 17th birthday. All my girlfriends assured me, “what’s the worse that can happen?” I didn’t want the worse. I wanted him.

Well, he went home, asked his room mate what he thought, said room mate offered to bail him out if need be (I was what was fondly called “jail bait” back in the day) so he said “Yes”!

I took him and one of my girlfriends to a movie. She was my protectress. Just in case. But there were no worries. Nothing happened and I mean nothing. Not even a kiss.

A week later  he asked me out to bowl with his friends. He was older than me and they were older than him but that was “OK”. I spent the evening playing with my hair and shrugging my shoulders. Trying every move I knew to get him to put his arms around me. It. Did. Not. Work. What was I? Chopped liver?

But the piece de la resistance was coming…the goodbye kiss on the front porch.

I felt his hands on my shoulders as I closed my eyes…I was getting so tingly!

He slowly lowered his mouth to mine…

and…

Bam!

Disaster struck!

My mouth was wide open, his shut.

Leave a Reply

